Simple Windows installation

• Is there any such thing as a windows installation that will install PyMakr. I'm just new to this and am wondering where PyQt fits in with PyMakr. Looks like the installation process is perfect for command line Linux heads! Can I just Notepad++ and FTP to the pycom. I have connected via usb and am on Com 17 at 115200. I have PuTTY working and can work the REPL. Should I be able to use FTP and how?

• Help me create a bootable USB, I want to install Windows 10 on my system. From where should I download the iso file.

• @pmulvey I do not see a reason for the difference, but I execute the piece of code for setting up the network interface from main.py. Actually it is in a separate file, let's call it "setup_wifi.py", and I have a statement
    import setup_wifi
    in main.py. It is usual practice to make main.py simple and to put you application code into separate files, which are then imported in main.py, eventually enclosed in a try/except clause. That way the device comes up in a stable state, even if you code flags errors.

• @robert-hh On a soft reboot (CTRL-D) boot.py seems to hang on this line:
    wlan = network.WLAN(mode=network.WLAN.STA) and I just get this response:
    PYB: soft reboot
    ÿ

But on the reset it works fine. Can I run main.py from REPL without a soft reboot? I have to explain here that I am new to both micropython and sipy but have done loads with arduino.

• @robert-hh

# test
    import os

import network
    import time
    from machine import UART
    uart = UART(0, 115200)
    os.dupterm(uart)
    # setup as a station
    wlan = network.WLAN(mode=network.WLAN.STA)

wlan.connect(ssid="SKYFXXXX", auth=(network.WLAN.WPA2, "XXXXXXXX"))

while not wlan.isconnected():

time.sleep_ms(50)
    wlan.ifconfig(config=("192.168.0.29", "255.255.255.0", "192.168.0.1",  "192.168.0.1"))

print ("Booted in STA mode")```

• @pmulvey You get code windows by inserting lines with three backticks before and after your code.