Sending packets via WiFi from Gateway to PC

• Hello everyone,

I'm quite new with LoPy and had very limited knowledge in network. I followed a simple tutorial on setting up a server on PC and a client on Pycom but it didn't connect with PC.

PC (server):

import socket               # Import socket module

s = socket.socket()         # Create a socket object
    host = name          # Get local machine name
    port = port_number                   # Reserve a port for your service.
    s.bind((host, port))        # Bind to the port

s.listen(5)                          # Now wait for client connection.
    while True:
               c, addr = s.accept()        # Establish connection with client.
               print 'Got connection from', addr
               c.send('Thank you for connecting')
                c.close()                # Close the connection

Pycom(client):

import socket       # Import socket module

s = socket.socket()         # Create a socket object
    host = name           # Get local machine name
    port = port_number              # Reserve a port for your service.

s.connect((host, port))
    print(s.recv(1024))
    s.close                                # Close the socket when done

I'd like to send simple packets of data from Pycom using socket.send() and receive it in my laptop using socket.recv(). However, the problem I'm encountering is that as I run the code in Pycom, I'm getting OSError: -1 in s.connect(). Help is very appreciated :)

• @ahaw021
    @bnjroos

Thanks for the information, I really appreciate it. I'd like to give a go for option A as it seems more straightforward. :)

• hi @finnzc

I suggest a quick google of how Wi-Fi networks work may be useful

To answer you question - in order for devices to communicate in WiFi they all need to be joined to the same network. This can be done one of two ways