Support for Bluetooth LE notifications?

• Re: Bluetooth characteristic notifications

Hi, I'm new to Pycom devices - I've had a couple of LoPy dev boards for a week or two and they seem great. I'm looking to use them in a commercial project that requires BLE notification support.

I have programmed a LoPy to advertise a BLE service and characteristic with Read, Indicate & Notify properties. (Bluetooth server / peripheral)

I am testing the connection using generic BLE apps (BLE Scanner for Android & LightBlue Explorer for iOS) to connect to the LoPy and read the values. The apps can connect and read the values from the LoPy, and the apps appear to show that I can successfully subscribe to notifications. However, it seems that the notification isn't triggered from the LoPy when the value changes. What I'd expect to see is that once the mobile app registers for notifications then any subsequent change in value on the LoPy side would trigger the new value to be sent to the mobile app, but only manually triggered reads seem to be working.

Is sending notifications from a Bluetooth LE client supported yet? I can't find any reference in the docs or forum.

Thanks

• @wituwitu Did you find a way to solve this problem ? I'm having the same issue, I'm pretty sure I'm doing something wrong but I cannot find a solution

• @scott (https://forum.pycom.io/post/9457) I tried running this code (I'm working on communication between LoPy4 and Android) but an error is raised:

OSError: Erorr while sending BLE indication/notification

Anyone got a fix?

• @bucknall - I’m having exactly the same issue as described here. Was this bug fixed? Notify does not seem to alert the client that the value has changed.

• @ledbelly2142 I haven't looked at power consumption yet.

For testing I'm using these apps: BLE Scanner for Android & LightBlue Explorer for iOS. I'll be making my own apps for the final product.

• @scott