How to use LoPy NanoGateway and local MQTT Broker Mosquitto

• I am new to micropython and have been going over the examples of the Nano-Gateway connecting to public MQTT brokers like TTN. I would like to use the LoPy Nano-Gateway to connect LoPy MQTT client nodes through the Nano-Gateway to the local network to a Mosquitto MQTT broker with a static IP address.

I was looking at the LoRaWAN Nano-Gateway example HERE to modify and point to the local MQTT broker with the static IP address.

My understanding is that the Nano-Gateway can act as a proxy to connect LoRa nodes (with sensors) to the Nano-Gateway and publish to the MQTT broker on the local network.

In the example code, the config.py file shows the server address and port to forward received data to. I think this is where I would enter the MQTT static IP address and port number. The LoPy MQTT client nodes would then publish topics. In the example code, I don't know if I need either the OTAA (over the air activation) or ABP (Activation By Personalization) in my case.

Can I just publish topics to the targeted MQTT broker through the Nano-Gateway?

I searched the forums to find other examples of using the LoPy Nano-Gateway to communicate with a local MQTT broker via WiFi but did not find any. There was an example using the WiPy, but the example did not directly translate to the LoPy Nano-Gateway.

Question: is this the best example code to work from or is there something more straight forward?

• Thanks @ahaw021

I am still wrapping my mind around how to go from sensor/MQTT-->LoPy send via LoRa to a LoPy acting as a RAW LoRa Nano-Gateway/LoPy--> that then forwards the message over wifi on local network.

LoPy/LoRa Node --> LoPy/LoRa NanoGateway (recieves and forwards via WiFi)-->LoPy/WiFi NanoGateway --> local network.

I apologize that I have not been very clear in my posts. In the LoPy NanoGateway discussion