Powering WiPy in deepsleep from a capacitor?

• As many others my application is solar powered, with a 12V battery. My current workflow is a pretty simple:

• measure ADC input
    • convert and send out over TCP socket
    • deepsleep for a few minutes

I'm not an expert but it looks like most 12v-15v converters, even the most efficient types a) are much less efficient at very low output currents and b) have a zero load current much higher than the WiPy2 should have in deepsleep i.e. you are loosing a lot of the benefit of deepsleep since the converter drawing more power than it technically needs.

The converter I'm looking at has an enable input, so I was wondering about, when the WiPy goes into deepsleep, powering off the converter and just maintaining the WiPy using a capacitor for a few minutes. When the timer fires to wake up the WiPy, enable the converter so the WiPy when drawing more current is being powered directly and at the same time charge up the cap. In this way the converter is being drive to probably a few hundred mA - where it is much more efficient but only running for a few percent of the time. Has anyone tried this or can anyone point me to a good starting point to try?

Thanks!

• @robert-hh - Thanks - I'll get a couple and take a look. Since I only do this stuff for my own use, my volume scale is usually 1!

• @guyadams99 About the form factor: The Pololu devices @Eric24 mentioned come in on a pretty small PCB, about to220 package sized, with part only on one side.