lopy/lopy4 - LORA on 433MHz

• I notice that the LoPy4 claims the following operable frequency ranges for LORA:

LoRa Operating Frequencies

– 868 MHz (Europe) at +14dBm maximum
    – 915 MHz (North and South America, Australia and New Zealand) at +20dBm maximum
    – 433 MHz (Europe) at +10dBm maximum
    – 470 – 510 MHz (China) at +14dBm maximum

but that the 'normal' LoPys claim:

Operating Frequencies

– 868 MHz (Europe) at +14dBm maximum
    – 915 MHz (North and South America, Australia and New Zealand) at +20dBm maximum

As a licenced radio amateur, I'm interested in the potential use of these devices in our 70cm band, with covers 430-440 MHz here in the UK. Others, notably the one and only Travis Goodspeed have already been dabbling with this with other hardware and I'd like to have a go with some LoPys.

Can we confirm that the blurb on the web-page is correct and that the LoPy4 LORA radio is really frequency agile between 868MHz and 433MHz and also confirm whether or not the same is true of the 'normal' LoPy?

I guess I can test my pair of 'normal' LoPys myself to see if they will tune in the 433MHz band, but if I can get conformation that if I preorder/buy new LoPy4s they will be capable of operation on both 868 and 433 MHz (not concurrently, but in a frequency agile, software controlled fashion) then I'll be ordering a pair imminently.

Cheers,

Darren, G0HWW

• @jmarcelino Aha! This is excellent, thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

• Darren,

the issue is, that 125kHz bandwidth is not allowed on 70cm in IARU REGION 1. While the SX127x supports lower bandwidth modes, you need TXCO instead of normal XTAL.

73... Béla, HA5DI

• @colinza
    Sorry, corrected the URL now.

For Band 2 (430-440 mhz) you don't need to to any changes.

• @jmarcelino That repo I think is private? Can't seem to access it.

As a radio ham I have access to 430-440 mhz here, so I'd love to be able to lock it down to around 434mhz and do some experiments

• @sympatron