Powering the LoPy with 2 AA batteries?

• Hi,

I wan't to power the LoPy with 2 AA (or AAA) batteries.. I was wondering if it might be possible to power it directly on the 3V3 pin ? (Pycom note: DO NOT POWER THE LoPY from the 3.3V pin, that pin is only output) The ESP32 should work down to 2.3V as far as I understand, how about the rest of the hardware? Disclaimer; I'm not an electronics expert, so please bear with me if this is a completely stupid question. :)

Thanks!

• @robert-hh Things are much better now it's wired correctly! :-) The batteries and the converter have been at room temperature for the last few hours and my LoPy and sensor are working fine. Thanks again for your help Robert.

• @robert-hh OK, great advice. I'll try it again. [Can you smell burning? ;-)]

• @jasontimmins There is simething wrong. The capacity of a AA battery is about 2500 mAh. The supply current of LoPy is like 200 mA, so it should last about 10 hours. BUT, primary batteries have a lousy high current behavior. Better use NiMh rechargable batteries.
    And again: The high current could have been caused by the wrong wiring of the LoPy. The Vin to 3.3V regulator on the LoPy could have been killed, at which point it consumes a lot of current.

• Oh, well, my four AA batteries were flattened in ~30 minutes... that's hardly my glittering dream of ultra low power remote sensing! <mutter>

• @jasontimmins NEVER connect teh power supply to the 3v3 V Pin of LoPy.- That is an OUTPUT, not an input. Always supply through Vin. Even if it tells 3.4 .. 5.5V, it works well at 3.3V.

• Hmm, that said, things are getting pretty hot! The batteries are warm and the converter is too hot to touch. Is that normal? My device would cook if I closed the lid... and who knows how long the batteries will last.