Seemingly impossible to connect in Pymakr with USB Expansion Board 3 + LoPy4 (Windows 10)

• I'm a software developer and deal with annoying, wrong issue reports on my forum everyday. I can assure I did my homework and something is wrong.

I am excited to begin using my LoPy4 + Exp Board 3 over the Pymakr/Atom REPL in Win10. Unfortunately this seems impossible.

Short summary: Once I connect it over USB, I do not get any COM ports, only the "Expansion3" device in Device Manager (see screenshot). The Pycom Firmware Update (new ver 1.15) and Pymakr require a numbered COM port. When I take researched actions with the USB drivers to get a COM port, the firmware updater still categorically fails (screenshot below), and Pymakr doesn't recognize.

0_1527377908569_PyComNotWorking.png

Before you ask:
    -I am certain I'm using a 4-pole data USB cable, not just a charging one.
    -I did successfully install the expansion board firmware (distinct from LoPy firmware) with the instructions pertaining to the "dfu-util-0.9-win64" and "zadig-2.3.exe" downloads.
    -I am sure the module is oriented properly in board, with both visible "pycom" texts aligned.
    -LoPy does broadcast a WiFi network and we have the blue flashing LED as expected
    -I never messed with resetting by shorting GND/23 because I read you don't need to worry about that with Expansion Board 3.0
    -Yes, I read this post: https://forum.pycom.io/topic/763/firmware-upgrade-troubleshooting-checklist-procedure

Driver issues:
    -After following the instructions and not getting any numbered COM device, I tried installing the FTDI drivers here: http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm
    -I then got a dysfunctional "COM11" to appear. It was there in Device Manager, but Pymakr wouldn't connect to it. And the Firmware Updater likewise failed:
    0_1527378232225_PyComNotWorking2.png