Lopy to Lopy communication over LoRa hangs on send

• Hello everyone!

I'm new to the PyCom devices and I'm working my way through the tutorials. However, when I run the lopy to lopy communication over LoRa example codes, the sending LoPy4 (lopy-B code) never completes the sending line. I've added a few prints to confirm the situation. Here is the code on lopy-b:

from network import LoRa
    import socket
    import time

lora = LoRa(mode=LoRa.LORA, frequency=905000000)
    s = socket.socket(socket.AF_LORA, socket.SOCK_RAW)
    s.setblocking(False)

while True:
        print("Sending Ping")
        s.send("Ping")
        print("Ping Sent")
        time.sleep(5)

The code results in "Sending Ping" being printed and nothing else.

The details of the unit are below:

(sysname='LoPy4', nodename='LoPy4', release='1.18.2', version='v1.8.6-849-743b7e7 on 2019-01-21', machine='LoPy4 with ESP32', lorawan='1.0.2', sigfox='1.0.1', pybytes='0.9.6')

I appreciate any help for a newbie! Thanks.

• @kps Thanks for the help. It 'almost' worked. It sent the first "ping" successfully, then printed "sending ping" and was never heard from again. If I use the reset button on the LoPy4 to get back to REPL and try to run the same code again from Atom, then the code won't send even that one ping. However, if I power-cycle the unit and run the same code from Atom again, then it completes the send command successfully exactly once before it hangs on the second send. Could this behavior be a clue? Why does the "hard" reset matter?

• Hi,
    try adding region followed by frequency spot within the region . it will work.

• I'm still having this issue. I've tried using the other frequency bands to setup the LoRa constructor and it had the same result. I'm not 100% sure how to do a full reset of the device and start again, but I used the erase_fs option of the pycom-fwtool-cli tool and tried the same code again. It behaved the same way.