wlan.scan() works fine in REPL, not when ran in Script.

• Hardware: Wipy 3.0 with v1.20.1.r2 and Expansionboard v3.1 with DFU 0.0.11.

Pymakr 1.5.6

Issue: wlan.scan(), when performed in REPL returns a list of networks, these seem to be all the expected networks in range. However, when performing wlan.scan() in main.py, list tends to have only a few and sometimes just one entry. Modem that is expected is right next to the device. (Also tried to move it further away, but no luck.)

Edit: Also just running the code using the 'Run' button seems to work fine, it just won't run properly from internal memory.

• Hello

I found a fix to the problem so i though I would share:

I am new to Pycom and Python i general however I had the exact same problem. I found out by trial and error that if I put in a decent delay between wlan = WLAN(mode=WLAN.STA) and nets = wlan.scan() I can now find all networks when rebooting the LoPy. Seems like any time.sleep() below 5 seconds is not enough. 7-8 seconds seems to reliably find all ssid's.

I can only speculate with my limited coding abilities to why the delay is necessary. The scanning is performed when changing the WLAN mode and wlan.scan() is just a container for the result? Or maybe the wlan code is not ready for use so quickly after chaning mode? Who knows... I havent looked into the library.

/SeaAnt

• So it turns out, after messaging with Robert, that PyBytes was the culprit, apparently if not using it and trying to start your own WiFi connection, it'll possibly conflict with the connection that PyBytes tries to make even if not using it?

Two things:
    Why is this not mentioned in the docs? Or did I miss anything?
    And, why doesn't the WiFi somehow disable when PyBytes is not used?

Anyway, thought I'd leave that info here for others who may also run into this same issue.

• @robert-hh I'm also trying it now on a LoPy with also the latest firmware, but getting the same issue.