Problem ftping to new WiPy

• I am new to the Pycom world. I have a WiPy 3 plugged into an Expansion board (v3.1) that I want to ftp into so I can see what is in /flash. I successfully upgraded the firmware to 1.20.2.rc10 and can talk to the board from my PC via a USB connection. I am using the Pymakr plugin for Atom.

When I try to ftp into the device using FileZilla it fails to connect - I receive a message that says "Can't connect with server". I poked around on the web and I suspect that my problem may lie in the board's WiFi mode. I believe in order to see the board it's mode needs to be WLAN.AP. According to the documentation the board is supposed to boot up in this mode. I suspect that it is actually WLAN.STA. I came to this conclusion because the board's "hot-spot" doesn't show up as an available network for my PC and when I use the "Get Device Info" utility in Atom it shows the Wifi mode as "Station". I am new to Micropython but when I query the WLAN mode - using wlan.mode() - it returns '1'. I can't find out what '1' means but I suspect it means the board is in Station mode (as reported by Atom).

How can I fix this? Remember I am new to MicroPython so be gentle. Ultimately I want to use multiple WiPys to share information about devices connected to them. There is no need or desire to share this information beyond the LAN so no connection to the Internet is needed or desired.

I look forward to constructive suggestions! Thanks!

• @robert-hh duh!!! I should have realised that! I'll try that and hopefully that will solve my problem!

• @nigelwattrus For the connection to the WiPy you have to use in Filezilla the IP address that was assigned to the WiPy (first field returned by ifconfig). So the host field has to show 192.168.1.156. And better do not use the quickconnect items, but go through the File->Servermanager (Ctrl-S) menu. There you can set properties like 'Passive mode' and 'Number of Sessions=1'.

Note: 192.168.1.1 is the address of the router.