What do I misunderstand about rgbled()?

• I'm new to Python and new to Pycom (lopy4) so this might turn out to be a silly question, but if I run this code fragment (LoRa init taken care of in boot.py and working)

red=0x330000
    green=0x003300
    blue=0x000033

senddata = 0xaa
    switch = Pin('P10', mode = Pin.IN)

while True:  
        if(switch() == 0):
            rgbled(red+green+blue)  # white    
            #print("Button pressed")
            retdata=loraSendReceive(senddata)
            print("Data transmitted: ", senddata)
            if(len(retdata) != 0):
                print("Data received: ", retdata)
            time.sleep(1)
        #print("Button not pressed")
        rgbled(green)  # Green

I would expect the rgb led to turn green immediately and white for as long as it takes to send a byte plus the 1 sec sleep as soon as the button is pressed. That does not happen. The led turns green and stays green after the first button press. Messages are sent and received via LoRaWan.

If I uncomment the 'button' print statements those are working as expected. It makes a mess for printing a lot of messages but at least the program shows it is going where it is expected to go. The led stays green.

What am I missing in turning on the rgb led?

• @robert-hh

And precise enough to create the timing signals for a WS2812! I remember writing a piece of C-code for a PIC microcontroller controlling a whole string of these leds and wrestling with that for a bit.

Thanks for your support. I was getting a little bit frustrated with the lopy on my bench but am starting to realize now that the difficult bit here is not in the networking but in the way a high-level language like Python interfaces with low level hardware. Just more stuff to learn :-)