LoPy to LoPy communication issue with button

• Hi,

I am new to the Pycom platform and I am trying to get a LoPy to communicate over LoRa with another LoPy when a button is pressed.

I have tried the LoPy to LoPy example code and have this working fine: https://docs.pycom.io/tutorials/networks/lora/module-module/

I now have a breadboard set up with a momentary pushbutton connected to digital pin 9 through the Expansion 3 board.

The issue I am having is that when I push the button, I believe the LoPy is sending a LoRa signal as I am printing to the console after the packet is sent but the receiving LoPy is not receiving the signal.

In its simplest form, the code below is how I am trying to send and receive the LoRa signal:

from network import LoRa
    from machine import Pin
    import pycom
    import socket
    import time

lora = LoRa(mode=LoRa.LORA, region=LoRa.EU868)
    s = socket.socket(socket.AF_LORA, socket.SOCK_RAW)
    s.setblocking(False)
    pycom.heartbeat(False)

activateButton = Pin('P9', mode=Pin.IN)

print('Starting to send....')

while True:

if (activateButton() == 1):
            s.send('Hi')
            print('Signal sent')

time.sleep(1)

from network import LoRa
    import pycom
    import socket
    import time

lora = LoRa(mode=LoRa.LORA, region=LoRa.EU868)
    s = socket.socket(socket.AF_LORA, socket.SOCK_RAW)
    s.setblocking(False)
    pycom.heartbeat(False)

print('Starting')
    while True:
        if s.recv(64) == b'Hi':
            print('Signal received')

time.sleep(1)

I have tried various other ways of coding the same thing. I have also tried to just modify the LoPy to LoPy example, which works, but instead of just sending a signal automatically I send it when I push the button. Once again this does not have the desired outcome on the receiving side.

I have been at this for days now and have searched through community postings but cannot find anything that can point me in the right direction.