LoRa () using LoRa MAC vs LoRaWAN

• Hello everyone (again!),
    I'm studying about the energy consumption over LoRaWAN and I thought it would be a great idea to study the LoRa RAW current consumption so I could change the TX_Power.
    I found something a bit weird and wanted to ask if anyone had the same problem?
    I've tested OTAA and ABP and I noticed that after the lora(mode=LORAWAN) the current didn't change, it stayed apparently the same.
    I'm using the FiPy.
    Example for OTAA, the phase 2 is where the lora() happens ( has a time.sleep() to be seen easier) - there's virtually no change :

OTAA5bytes6.png

Yet, on RAW mode I can cleary see a jump (probably coming from the LoRa modem being used, it makes sense) but the question is, why not on LoRaWAN? - Around the 5 seconds marker.

RAW15bytes1.png

Example for RAW:

Thanks, again.

• @jcaron Noted, thank you.

• @João-Rocheteau in LoRaWAN mode, just instantiating the LoRa object does nothing at all in terms of RX or TX, so it’s quite normal there’s no significant change. I would expect the only change to be the LoRa servicing timer to start, but I haven’t looked how things are implemented in a long time (there used to be a 1 kHz timer to check for any stuff to do, not sure this is still the case).

As @robert-hh wrote, LoRaWAN in class A will never send or receive except at very specific times:

• TX when you do a join (OTAA join request).
    • TX on join retries
    • TX on explicit send
    • TX on send retries (for unacknowledged confirmed uplinks)
    • RX during one or two of the two RX windows after a join request
    • RX during one or two of the two RX windows after an uplink