Help with I2C connection to BME280 on WiPy 2.0 ...

• Just trying to connect to a BME280 sensor on I2C with a WiPy 2.0 on a 2.0 Expansion Board but seem to be having a problem. Running V1.8.6-849-9569a73 which I believe is current since I just did a firmware update. First I'm just trying to get a basic I2C connection using the standard SDA and SCL pins (which I believe are G16 (P9) for SDA and G17 (P10) for SDL. I've removed the LED jumper on the expansion board. I'm running the REPL through ATOM on COM. When I run this:

from machine import I2C
    i2c = I2C(0, I2C.MASTER, baudrate=100000)
    i2c.scan()

it hangs for quite a while (at least 30 seconds) and returns nothing ([ ]). Don't understand the hang and I expected to see the BME280's default I2C address of 0x76. I'm new to I2C communication, so I apologize if I'm making any dumb mistakes at this point. Please point me in the right direction!

Do I need a pull-up resistor on SDA?

Also looking for a library for the BME280. If anyone knows of a good one that actually works well, please post a link.

Would appreciate any help. Thanks.

• @sealyons I made a test with the calibrated temperature mesurement device:

Calibrated device: 21.7   21.8
    DS18B20:           21.9   21.9
    DHT22:             21.8   21.9
    SI7021:            21.7   21.8
    BMP085:            22.4   22.5
    BME280:            21.8   21.9

Besides the BMP085, all devices were on the spot = within 1 digit variance. That status was stable for 5 hours testing. Only the BMP085 was always ~0.6 °C above, but still that at the limits of it's spec.

• @robert-hh I just made a small test with a set of different sensors I had in my drawer and a small temp/humidity unit for home use. I placed them all outside, so I could compare the to values I get from the local university's weather station, 3.85km distant at almost the same elevation. The weather is calm outside. Almost not wind.

DS18B20:    10.13C
    DHT22:      10.30C            74.90%