Can't recieve data in LoRa mode

• I just started experimenting with the LoPy.
    My first step is to use a LoPy as just a receiver for any traffic sent with LoRa and fetch the incoming data. I have very little knowledge of radio itself and i put my trust towards the board to handle most of the radio technology.

I followed the gateway code example of LoRa nano-gateway found at https://docs.pycom.io/pycom_esp32/pycom_esp32/tutorial/includes/lora-nano-gateway.html. To my understanding this should be able to pick up any kind of data sent from a LoRa device. Currently my LoPy is only picking up the following output: b". The board has been tried with LoRaWAN activated towards The Things Network and can receive packets - somewhat scrambled but consistent.
    In the example code i can't see any specific settings used for channels, preamble, sf etc and thus conclude that specific settings are not needed?

To reiterate, i don't intend to use the node code provided in the example only the gateway code to fetch any data being sent.

Do any of you have any suggestions of what might be the problem? Am i missing something fundamental?

Thankful for any help!

• @ThatStudentGuy
    Yes, that's right, if you want to communicate between LoPy boards use "raw" LoRa ( mode=LoRa.LORA ) and set the boards up with the same parameters in LoRa.init(...)

If you want the LoPy to participate in LoRaWAN networks (with a real gateway like the Kerlink) then use mode=LoRa.LORAWAN which doesn't have parameters, those are defined by the region you're in.

LoPy as a pseudo-LoRaWAN single channel gateway is coming but it is a bit of a hack more for development and internal testing where users are aware of the limitations and shouldn't be a replacement for a real LoRaWAN gateway.

• @ThatStudentGuy said in Can't recieve data in LoRa mode: