V3.1 Expansion board and Debian Linux

• I'm new to pycom. I wonder if this is a good decision given I use linux, but oh well.

I am using this website as a reference. https://docs.pycom.io/gettingstarted/installation/firmwaretool/

I use glibc 2.28. I downloaded the pycom-fwtool for 2.18 and higher. ie. pycom_firmware_update_1.16.2-amd64.tar.gz

I attempted to run the pycom-fwtool but it segfaults. There aren't any usage instructions on this page so I have no idea how it works. It gives an error about "Cannot load default config file." There is another tool in the tgz file given on that page for linux. The other tool is pycom-fwtool-cli. There are no usage instructions on this tool either.

The remaining documentation on this page is for V3 and V2 expansion boards.

With that said, if you read the Expansion Board 3.0 documentation, which I am not sure applies to me since I have V3.1 board there is a reference which says you should visit this website https://docs.pycom.io/pytrackpysense/installation/firmware/ to update the pysense/pytrack/pyscan exanpansion board V3.

This website is also confusing. For Debian linux it says to install dfu-util which I did. It also mentions pressing the S1 button and plugin and then install pytrack. This fails. Ditto for pysense. This command does work. sudo dfu-util -VD expansion31_0.0.11.dfu

lsusb shows

Bus 003 Device 030: ID 04d8:ef98 Microchip Technology, Inc.

This does not match the docs which says

For exemple, a Pytrack board is visible as either:

Bus 020 Device 004: ID 04d8:f014 Microchip Technology Inc. Application Specific Device
    this is bootloader mode (f014 is USB PID), active just for 7-8 seconds, if the reset button was just pressed before plugging USB connector.
    Bus 020 Device 005: ID 04d8:f013 Microchip Technology Inc. Pytrack Serial: Pyabcde0
    this is normal, application mode (f013 is USB PID), this means the bootloader verified application partition and it boot-up correctly.