Sigfox Downlink ENETDOWN - LoPy4

• Hi,

I have a question regarding the downlink connection in sigfox. Every time I try to send a message with downlink enabled I get a ENETDOWN error. In the sigfox backend I can see that the downlink message has been ackd.

I've read somewhere on this forum when discussing the fipy, that this may be due to the downlink connection using sigofox fsk mode, which also does not work on the Lopy4 as written in the documentation.

Is my problem related to fsk mode not working on the lopy4? If not, what could be the problem?

• @miwink Better use wavelength/2 antennas, even if they are larger. The first one @Eric73 linked or the pycom antenna are such. They are more forgiving in handling.

• @miwink I am not an expert in atenna but here some exemple of antenna that can be used, you can try to change your uFL-SMA cable too

https://eu.mouser.com/Passive-Components/Antennas/_/N-8w0fa?P=1z0wn4uZ1y9315m

https://eu.mouser.com/ProductDetail/RF-Solutions/FLEXI-SMA90-868?qs=17u8i%2FzlE88aIMOLgraHrA%3D%3D

• @Eric73 Ok, so I will try that. I don't know that much about antennas, are there some sort of requirements for what type of antenna it should be. Or all they all pretty much the same?

• @miwink So it must work, try different antenna or even try outisde building you must receive your downlink.
    Please note that sigfox downlink message is very limited, no more that 4 by day is allowed, so shutdown your board for 24 hours, then try outside or with a new antenna. Each time the sigfox bacjend send you a message you go nearest the limit of message allowed for you.

• @Eric73 Screenshot 2020-07-02 at 08.20.46.png

All downlink messages have identical details.

• @miwink In Sigfox backend, can you click on the green down arrow to see detail about downlink sigfox status and post result?
    LQI: Link Quality Indicator is ggod for uplink, so downlink must work too

• @miwink