LoPy4 lora range test

• Does anybody have some lora range test code that would let me check the max range I can get between a LoPy4 transmitter & a walk test LoPy4 receiver? A lazy request I know but I don't want to spend ages developing LoPy4 code if the lora range in this cluttered urban environment is not up to task.

• @robert-hh I guess that's why it's pushing half a watt of RF & claiming -20dBm? Any idea where I could find out the best bandwidth/coding-rate/preamble values to use with sf=12 in raw mode?

• @kjm The sensitivity of the devices is good. But do not trust too much to the numbers. They are not calibrated.

• @robert-hh Sadly I have yet to master roll-your-own firmware. Excellent RF results for raw lora from the lopy4 though. I've been tinkering with spread spectrum since the 1990s (when the proxim XRs first appeared) never seen successful data at this signal level on 915MHz.

rssi -143   snr -18.0   sf 12

• @kjm You'll get an older version of the firmware without the pybytes code both in the firmware and frozen bytecode. You get the same when you build your own firmware with the build option "VARIANT=BASE", which is the default. That's what I do. The other variant is "VARIANT=PYBYTES"

• @robert-hh So do you know what the deal is with 'legacy' in the Firmware updater? What do I get when I choose that?

• @kjm There is a pybytes_on_boot() method of the pycom module.

pycom.pybytes_on_boot(False)

Will disable pybytes. That one is in the code, but not documented.

• @robert-hh I chose 'legacy' for the upgrade to try to avoid pybytes & got release 1.20.0.rc13. Was that a bad choice? If I go with 'pybytes' what command do I need to disable pybytes?

• @kjm I cannot tell when the bootmgr() method included the file system. The actual version 1.20.2 of the firmware does. So may you should update first. The Pycom images will include pybytes, which can be disabled if not required, and is then only wasted flash memory.