LTE-M Attach/Connect Best Practices?

• Hi, I'm new to both PYCOM and LTE-M . I'm looking for any info/advice about using LTE (on Gpy) with regards to how long is acceptable to stay attached and/or connected without any IP traffic.

My application requires sending small (<100bytes) UDP packets in response to real time events (with minimal delays). Typically these might occur approx 10 mins apart, but could be anywhere from 10 secs to several weeks apart. I can't find any documentation regarding using PYCOMs LTE library over a long period of time, the only docs and examples I can find simply say LTE.attach(), LTE.connect() and then send data but no mention of what to do next or how long theses connections can be expected to last.

I have had success sending several UDP packets (approx 1 minute apart) without disconnecting/etc, however, if I time.sleep() for more than about 2 mins between sending, no further UDP send commands will succeed even though LTE.isconnected() and LTE.isattached() continue to return True. I have found by wrapping the send function with LTE.connect() LTE.disconnect() I can successfully send packets with larger delays between them (up to an hour or so). Sometimes when it's time to resend, the LTE needs to be re-attached (i.e. LTE.isattached() returns False) but doing so usually succeeds and the packet can be sent. Not sure if leaving the LTE attached is considered good or bad practice?

My question is: Does anyone have any experience with (or at least a good rule of thumb regarding) how often an application could/should remain idle before disconnecting and/or detaching from the LTE network. I'm assuming network providers have IDLE timers to kick devices off their network as a result of inactivity, but I can't find anywhere that has documented this.