GPy influences measured Voltage

• Hi all,

I'm quite new to microcontrollers so don't understand everything about them at the moment. The target with the current GPy in combination with an expansion board is to read out 2 analog signals ranging from 0 to 3 Volt. When I measure the output from the device it equals about 0.5 V, however when I connect the wire of the device to the GPy, then the measured voltage is around 1.4V.

What causes this increase in measured voltage and how can I solve it?

By searching on the internet I thought that it might be due to the high input impedance of the GPy and that the solution might be a voltage follower or a buffer amplifier. However, I am not sure about this.

Thanks in advance.

Danny

• @Danny-Helwegen I understand, but that was not the intention of my question. You could try the following:
    Disconnect the device from the GPy and measure the current that flows from either output of the device to GND of GPY, with the other device output floating and the GPY's USB port connected to your PC. The current should be 0. If not, the device has internal connections to GND, which can have the effect you see.

• @robert-hh The output of the device is connected to the ground of the PyCom, together with the ground of the power supply.

• @Danny-Helwegen The code looks fine so far. And according to the GPy Pinout there is nothing internally connected to GPIO34 besides the MCU. The FiPy has the LTE modem output connected to GPIO34.
    There was quite some discussion about the ESP32's ADC. It is quite noisy and not very linear, especially at the ends of the range. But with 4-20 mA you would anyhow discard the low end. Considering the noise, the effective resolution is about 9 bit. You can drop the noisy by averaging, increasing the resolution.
    But it's still not clear why the voltage across the 150 Ohm resistor increases when you connect it to the GPy. Is the output of the device floating (no reference to GND)?