Best practice - Threading, Events, Interrupts and Memory

• Hi,

I am relatively new to MicroPython (background of C#/Java) but have been loving getting my hands dirty with the SiPy for a project I am working on. However, I have been having some issues when it is coming to running multiple threads and memory management. Specifically I keep having issues at times where I cannot allocate enough memory to create a new thread (as they seem quite expensive to run).

So I wanted to make this post to try and get some advice on what the best programming practice would be to achieve what I want.

The background to the project is that it is a SiPy running 3 sensors (GPS, Temp and Light). I want all sensors to be logging at certain intervals (e.g. Temp reading every 5 mins, GPS every 10 mins, Light every 60 minutes). On top of that I want to set an alert that if any of the sensors hit a certain value and use that alert to send a message over SigFox. So in effect, an event driven functionality.

My issue is that I could not find any real built event driven methods/methodology in Python (might of overlooked something). The closest I found was using a hardware interrupt or the Timer.Alarm() functionality which both feel like I am hammering a square peg into a round hole a bit.

My current solution involves running each sensor logging function (GPS, Temp and Light) on a separate thread that loops, logs and sleeps. If a value of interest is detected, then each individual thread would create another thread that would handle the value (typically by sending a SigFox message). Now, all individual parts of my code work fine but I find that at time my memory is low and cannot create the threads to send the message, especially when two or more are trying to do it at the same time.