Pulling code off of an existing project

• Hi,

I've been tasked with reverse engineering a device used in an experimental project at our organisation. I am new to pyboards and was curious if there exists any tools to 'download' the existing code off of a project. It has worked for the past 18 months and is now beginning to fail. We suspect it's a checksum drifting issue and information is rejected when exchanged with thingspeak, but we can't test this without access to the original code.

The engineer(s) that have worked on this are no longer with the organisation.

We are clutching at straws on how to approach this. If we don't get anywhere, we're able to start it from scratch. I'm here to see if this can be solved before committing lots of time to creating a new one from scratch.

Thanks in advance.

• @Miguel-Moreno Thank you for the response. We're using a Wipy board to talk to a wifi enabled cellular router that connects to thingspeak. I will attempt what you're suggesting.

@robert-hh You're right! I was surprised as well. We do have some source code, but there is a sense that there may be a later version of this on the device instead (we need to be sure). We're basically picking apart a project that other engineers built and are working with the technical documentation that they've left behind to get the system up and running again. We're aware that it may all be for nothing but it's worth a try before we commit time and resources to the next iteration of the application with better record keeping.

• @Scott-Stewart It's kind of surprising that your organization has not information about a product which was developed for you. If you ask someone else to do that for you, you have obviously to prove ownership of the data and product.