[Pysense] How can I connect a sensor to the external IO Header

• Hello all,

I am new with pycom and pysense. I could run the Pysense and take measure with integrate sensors. That's great.

Now, I wish to use my own moisture capcitive sensor and later to use a WatherMark sensor and I need analogic pin.

I wonder if the External IO pin of the Pysense can help?

For my future experience I would need 3 Analog input to read the measure and to Digial output to power the Watermark sensor.

In that doc link text, it state that the IO1, IO4 & IO5 are connected to PIC.
    What it is really a PIC?

I wonder if those external IO can be use as analog input and/or analog input or which can be analog input

The best is to be able to make my future experience with the Pysense, otherwise, I will investigate to connect the Poly4 to an Raspberry Zero W (without Pysense) and investigate how to use 3 Watermark sensor, on tempearture sensor (soil temperature) and on capacitive moisture sensor.

Many thank for your help, tips and hints.

Cheers

• Hi @pierrot10 The internal ADC has very poor performance. The non linearity is poor and it has a high noise floor. I think someone earlier suggested using an external ADC and I think that is very good advice.

• @pierrot10
    I see a problem with the schematics above, when reading multiple WM sensors the ground paths should be isolated:

Sensors must be powered individually, and the ground must be isolated from sensor to sensor. Even if powered individually, an open ground path to another un-powered sensor can't be allowed. This is best accomplished using multiplexers to open and close the appropriate channels.

For additional details please refer to :
    www.irrometer.com/200ss.html

• @pierrot10
    I’m afraid Seb has left Pycom but I’ll answer.

Soldering a header to the side could work but not very mechanically stable. If it breaks it may take some of the pads.

I would recommend a female long pin stacking header for your application